Home News Exeposé wins runner-up in Guardian national student media awards

Exeposé wins runner-up in Guardian national student media awards


Exepose.com was announced as the runner-up for ‘Student Website of the Year’ at the Guardian Student Media awards on Thursday. Beating the University of Cambridge’s TCS, Sheffield’s Forge Today and Warwick’s Belle Jar, Exeposé was defeated only by the University of Nottingham’s Impact Magazine. The current Online Editors, Meg Lawrence and Callum Burroughs, as well as last year’s Online Editors, Olivia Luder and Liam Trim, attended the event to collect the award.

Callum Burroughs commented: ‘It was a huge honour to be nominated, we were proud to be in such esteemed company and to come second is a great achievement for Exeposé Online.’

The ceremony took place on Thursday 27 November at the Guardian headquarters in London and was hosted by broadcaster Rick Edwards. Over 700 hopefuls nominated themselves for the 36th annual awards, which were judged by leading industry figures including Alan Rusbridger, Guardian News and Media editor-in-chief, John Thornhill, Financial Times deputy editor, and Cate Sevilla, managing editor of BuzzFeed UK.

The University of York’s York Vision won ‘Newspaper of the Year’ for the sixth time since 2000. The runner-up for this category was its campus rival Nouse.

Other prizes included ‘Student Reporter of the Year,’ Patrick Greenfield University of York, ‘Student Columnist of the Year,’ Lucy Webster University of Warwick, and ‘Student photographer of the Year,’ Julia Schoenstaedt Goldsmiths London. The full list of winners can be found below.

Student publication of the year

Winner – York Vision, University of York

Runner-up – Nouse, University of York

Student website of the year

Winner – impactnottingham.com, University of Nottingham

Runner-up – exepose.com, University of Exeter

Student reporter of the year

Winner – Patrick Greenfield, University of York

Runner-up – Gabriel Webber, University of Sussex

Student feature writer of the year

Joint winners – Ralph Jones, City University London and Charlotte England, SOAS, University of London

Student columnist of the year

Winner – Lucy Webster, University of Warwick

Runner-up – Jacob Montgomery, UCL, University of London

Student critic of the year – in association with NME

Winner – Cal Revely–Calder, University of Cambridge

Runner-up – James Tyas, University of York

Student photographer of the year

Winner – Julia Schoenstaedt, Goldsmiths, University of London

Runner-up – Alecsandra Raluca Dragoi, University of Portsmouth

Student digital journalist of the year

Winner – Marta Portocarrero, Goldsmiths, University of London

Runner-up – Siraj Datoo, City University London

Student broadcast journalist of the year

Winner – Amelia Dimoldenberg, Central St Martins – University of the Arts London

Runner-up – Anastasia Pastor Kubrak, Samuel Holder and Tashi Skervin, City University London

Laura-Jane Tiley, Online News Editor

Follow @ExeposeNews on Twitter and like us here on Facebook.

bookmark me


  1. Hello blogger, i must say you have hi quality articles here.
    Your blog should go viral. You need initial traffic boost only.
    How to get it? Search for: Mertiso’s tips go viral


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.